Maggies Mentions

Keepping Healthy – Walk Off The Pounds

2 Comments

ID-10034790If you work at a computer or a job that requires a lot of sitting time and your noticing your putting on a few pounds, consider the lack of exercise you may be getting. It’s easy to get caught up in researching online, catching up on your email, or getting a project done and not realize the time just flies.

I know I can be guilty of skipping breakfast by getting involved with marketing and research that before I know it, I am so hungry and its well into the lunch hour. I do not believe in skipping meals to lose weight. I believe a balanced diet and exercise is healthy.

I totally believe in taking walks and have been doing this for years. I have noticed it helps me maintain my weight and at times have shed a few pounds. Not only do you get those awesome benefits from walking, but also you are giving your body the ability to produce oxygen rich blood for balancing appetite hormones and feel good endorphins.

The hot summer weather makes walking a bit harder with the heat and humidity, even sometimes unbearable in the evenings. I have invested in a treadmill for days like that and believe me it’s well worth it!

Tip: Go walking with your wife, husband, kids, a family member or friend. Its a great bonding time and a chance to talk in the busy lives we live in. I have a couple of friends who will give a call some evenings when the weather allows, and when I think, no I don’t feel like walking tonight, the call inspires me and I am glad I went.

Gabi over at ittybittypositivitycommittee commented that she uses an App called MapMyRun on her phone when she goes out walking to log her distance and time. Thanks Gabi!

Photo Courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Author: Maggies Mentions

Mom of two who loves crafts, DIY, gardening and cooking. Finding ways to make life a bit easier and stress free to share and hopefully help someone else have a good day.

2 thoughts on “Keepping Healthy – Walk Off The Pounds

  1. It’s also fun to use MapMyRun for my walks! You get to see where you went, how far it was, how long it took you… lots of great options. I MapMy dog walks whenever I think to bring my phone 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

